Latest News

Maureen Blanquisco Wins 2022 Bikini Olympia


As the 2022 Bikini Olympia approached, a lot of buzz had circulated around the four champions of the division — 2021 winner Jennifer Dorie, 2020 champion Janet Layug, 2019 titleholder Elisa Pecini, and three-time Ms. Bikini Olympia Ashley Kaltwasser.

This year’s Olympia in Las Vegas, NV, was all but confirmed to be one of the best bikini events in recent memory. However, a different collection of competitors appeared in the final callout. Dorie and Kaltwasser were there, but so was Jourdanne Lee of Canada as well as Maureen Blanquisco.

[Read: 2022 Mr. Olympia Results — Live Updates & Coverage]

The top ten finishers of the first round moved on to the finals at the Zappos Theater on the evening of Dec. 17, 2022. The four aforementioned athletes were who many felt were in contention for the title. Ultimately, though, Maureen Blanquisco claimed the title of 2022 Ms. Bikini Olympia

2022 Bikini Olympia Results

Blanquisco placed fourth in the 2021 Olympia one year prior before taking the throne in Vegas. Here are the top five in the 2022 Olympia bikini division, along with their winnings:

Maureen Blanquisco — $50,000
Jennifer Dorie — $20,000
Ashley Kaltwasser — $12,000
Daraja Hill — $7,000
Lauralie Chapados — $6,000

[Related: Andrea Shaw Three-Peats, Wins 2022 Ms. Olympia]

2022 Bikini Olympia Recap

The Bikini finals kicked off the Saturday night festivities, but the winners weren’t crowned until after Classic Physique winner Chris Bumstead had claimed his fourth title.

Based on the comparisons, the two in the driver’s seats were Dorie and Blanquisco, who came in sculpted and polished in their presentation. After the top ten performed their own routines, it was time for the moment everyone was waiting for. Would Dorie repeat, or would a new Ms. Bikini Olympia be named? 

The judges then made their final decision. Dorie and Blanquisco were the final two competitors, but ultimately, Blanquisco brought it home. During her post-award interview, Blanquisco remarked that she was as shocked as any member of the audience. 

“I knew it was a matter of time, I just didn’t think it would be this time. I’m so thankful,” she remarked before joking that she intends on winning the Olympia for ten more years before moving on to the Masters Olympia, which will return in 2023 after a hiatus. 

Maureen Blanquisco | Ms. Olympia Competitions

In addition to placing well at two other bikini events in 2022 (first place at the 2022 Boston Pro and second at the 2022 Arnold Classic), Blanquisco has placed better and better at every prior Olympia appearance: 

2019: 9th
2021: 4th
2022: 1st

[Related: 2022 Figure Olympia Results — Cydney Gillon Retains]

The 2022 Olympia Schedule

Below is the schedule for the rest of the 2022 Olympia weekend. The divisions below are listed in the same order as they appear on the official schedule.

The start times for each division’s pre-judging and finals have not been announced. The morning and evening sessions on Dec. 17, 2022, beginning at 9:00 a.m. and 7:00 p.m., respectively.

Saturday, Dec. 17, 2022

7:00 p.m. — Finals

Mr. Olympia
Men’s Physique Olympia
Classic Physique Olympia

BarBend is producing live coverage of the pre-judging and finals for each division.

Featured Image: @w_wittmannphoto on Instagram

The post Maureen Blanquisco Wins 2022 Bikini Olympia appeared first on BarBend.

Erin Banks Wins 2022 Men’s Physique Olympia

Previous article

Santa makes mince pies

Next article

You may also like


Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Latest News