Latest News

The 2023 Shaw Classic Will Officially Crown “The Strongest Man on Earth”


In 2023, the winner of the Shaw Classic will officially be “The Strongest Man on Earth. The promoter, four-time World’s Strongest Man (WSM) champion Brian Shaw, has officially acquired the trademark of “The Strongest Man on Earth” from Paul Ohl, the organizer of Fortissimus, a strongman contest held in 2008 and 2009.

Shaw interviewed Ohl on his YouTube channel to discuss Fortissimus and the title turnover to Shaw for the future of the Shaw Classic on July 17, 2023. Check it out below:

[Related: How to Do the Drag Curl to Build Your Arms]


Fortissimus was a strongman contest that premiered in 2008 and ran until 2009. It was indefinitely suspended following the 2009 competition after a lack of sponsorships prevented the contest from holding another edition. It ultimately never returned, though “The Strongest Man on Earth” remained trademarked.

The Fortissimus competition featured many of the strongman events expected in elite contests to this day, including Super Yoke, Log Lift, Deadlift, Husafell Stone Carry, and Atlas Stones. Derek Poundstone won the debut contest in 2008; four-time WSM champion Žydrūnas Savickas finished as the runner-up. One year later, Poundstone and Savickas traded places on the podium — the Lithuanian is technically the reigning and final Fortissimus champion.

[Related: The 10 Best Strongman Exercises (and Alternatives) for Beastly Strength]

The popularity of the Shaw Classic seems only to increase year over year with additional sponsors, prize payout, and clout amongst the competitive strongman community. The boon of a notable trademarked name further elevates the contest’s branding to better align with other elite contests like the World’s Strongest Man and Arnold Strongman Classic.

2023 Shaw Classic Roster

Trey Mitchell — Two-Time Defending Champion
Mitchell Hooper
Oleksii Novikov
Maxime Boudreault
Kevin Faires
Aivars Šmaukstelis
Evan Singleton
Bobby Thompson
Luke Stoltman
Tom Stoltman
Adam Bishop
Pavlo Nakonechnyy
Thomas Evans
Pavlo Kordiyaka
Mateusz Kieliszkowski
Brian Shaw
Gavin Bilton — alternate

2023 Shaw Classic Events

Log Medley
Max Hummer Tire Deadlift
Wheelbarrow and Arm-Over-Arm Medley
Bag Toss
Car Leg Press
Atlas Stones
Bench Press
Fingal’s Fingers and Power Stairs Medley

Although Trey Mitchell has two Shaw Classic titles to his name, more than any other strongman, only two other strongmen currently have held the moniker of Strongest Man on Earth. With a increasingly positive reputation in the sport of strongman and now a legitimate moniker for the show’s winners to bear, the Shaw Classic looks to further its solidify itself as a top-tier contest for top-tier competitors. 
Featured image: @shawstrength on Instagram

The post The 2023 Shaw Classic Will Officially Crown “The Strongest Man on Earth” appeared first on BarBend.

Discover Men’s Open Bodybuilder Hunter Labrada’s Push Day Six Weeks Out From Competition

Previous article

The Best Way To Stabilize Your Hips and Knee Joints? Grab a Mini Band

Next article

You may also like


Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Latest News